Skip to content

Be Creative Every Day

February 13, 2011

“Be creative every day” or “draw something every day” is an advice I often read in instructions for beginners. While drawing something every day can undoubtedly help to build up solid skills, it can also lead to some kind of pressure. At least, that’s what I often experienced as I was a beginner. I thought if I would not draw or paint something new every single day I were not a true artist. At the same time I have always felt incapable of being creative by every “have to”.

It helped me a lot to step back from this “every day” and allow myself to not draw or paint. That was not as easy as it seems to be, because I felt so inadequate as an artist and thought I would loose to much time and not build up my skills fast enough. But after a while I discovered that the breaks I took were not at all breaks from creativity. I learned that creativity is an inherent part of myself and that I work on artworks in my mind even if I do not actually paint.

Now, several years later, I still take these breaks every now and then, and it still helps me to develop new ideas. And, more important, I do at least a scribble every single day, without any pressure, without any “have to”, just because I like it. And I believe that this is, what every artist should feel.

From → Personal

Comments are closed.

