Skip to content

Sketchbook #11: An Apple A Day…

February 27, 2011

These are some small studies on fruit, painted with Rembrandt soft pastels and Faber-Castell pastel pencils on darkgreen Mi-Teintes paper.

Wow, it has been a long time since I drew with pastels for the last time and I’m glad I did it again. Pastels are wonderful! I love their smell and the texture they make on the paper and the beautiful deep colors… I have to do it wayyyyy more often!!!

Apple in pastel No 1

Apple in pastel No 2

Apples and pear in pastel

The last one was inspired by a typical German phrase “Äpfel mit Birnen vergleichen”, which is equivalent to “to compare apples and oranges”. The two apples do not like the pear and whisper about it, while the pear looks away in sadness. Poor pear. 😉

From → Sketchbook

Comments are closed.

